Home / Staff Council

The Staff Council is an elected body whose purpose is to represent staff and to consider and recommend policies regarding staff welfare and individual staff suggestions and problems. The Staff Council meets monthly (with the exception of August and December) and meetings are open to all employees at Bluefield State University.

Staff Council Constitution

2024 Members

  • Clerical / Secretarial – Marie Cheeks and Kristi Dawson
  • Maintenance / Physical Plant – John Brown and Kevin McMillion
  • Supervisor / Managerial / Administrative – Cynthia Higgins-Atwell and Timothy McKenzie
  • Professional – Jessica McDaniel and Chris Shrader
  • Paraprofessional / Technical – Jacob Clarkson and Virginia Shupe


  • Staff Council Chair – Jeanne Moricle
  • Advisory Council of Classified Employees – Rebekah Hatch
  • Institutional Board of Governors – Timothy McKenzie

Staff Council Agendas 2024

June 2024 (Virtual Meeting Link)

May 2024

Staff Council Minutes 2024

April 2024

March 2024

February 2024

January 2024