The Institutional Board of Governors, established by state statute, oversees the operation of Bluefield State. 

About the Board

The Board consists of nine lay members appointed by the Governor, one full-time faculty member, one classified staff employee, and one student.

The Board's duties include:

  • determining, controlling, and supervising all financial affairs of the institution 
  • developing a master plan for the Institutional Compact
  • submitting a budget request to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission  
  • reviewing all academic programs at the institution every five years
  • exercising exclusive authority to approve teacher education programs at the institutional level  
  • administering personnel pursuant to uniform rule
  • administering grievances
  • appointment and dismissal of the President
  • evaluating the President every three years
  • submitting an annual report to the Higher Education Policy Commission regarding the College's Institutional Compact
  • entering into consortium agreements
  • delegating power to the President
  • abiding by existing rules regarding acceptance of advanced placement credit  
  • acquiring legal services
  • setting tuition and fees 
  • rescinding delegation of power to the President when necessary



  • Dr. Garry Moore, Chairman
  • Mr. Charlie Cole, Vice Chairman
  • The Honorable William Cole, III
  • Mr. Randall Price
  • Mrs. Cathy Deeb
  • Mr. Michael Hastings
  • Mr. J Shannon Remines
  • Mr. Anthony Tolley
  • Mrs. Rebecca Peterson
  • Dr. Deirdre Guyton (Staff Representative)
  • Mr. Mike Lilly (Faculty Representative)
  • Shane Reviello (Student Representative)

Bluefield State College Organizational Chart

2021 BSC Organizational Chart


Governance Policy Manual

Board of Governors Training Resources

AGB Consulting Report, 2018