myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Friday, December 19, 2014
Text Size

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association's purpose is to represent the students in the decision-making process directly affecting students and BSC; to serve as a channel for the expression of student opinion; to encourage the personal and academic development of students through their participation in student activities; to promote a feeling of unity among the entire academic community of the college; to enhance the relationship between the academic community and its service area; to maintain an active relationship with the BSC Alumni Association; and to promote student responsibility and leadership.

The SGA is composed of 20 student representatives elected by the student body at large. The members of the Student Government Association serve as representatives to numerous college-wide committees. Students are able to participate in the decision-making process of the College and contribute to the formulation of campus policies and procedures. Students have voting rights in many of these groups and serve as advocates for general student needs.

Student Government members dedicate considerable time to their responsibilities by attending bimonthly meetings, serving on committees, working on projects, and answering and assisting in student concerns. All those who are involved gain personal satisfaction and leadership skills which will serve them in other areas of their lives.

When vacancies occur in the Student Government throughout the year, the vacancies are filled from a group of students who maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5 and have submitted an application of interest. For more information or to pick up (and return) an application please stop by the Student Life Office - Game Room 106B  in the Student Center.

Office Hours - Spring 2014

Contact: Jerry Perdue, SGA President
Office:  (304) 327-4185

Monday   1:00 to 4:00
Tuesday   11:00 to 4:00
Wednesday   11:00 to 1:00
Thursday   11:00 to 4:00
Friday   11:00 to 4:00





2014jperdue   2014lpicanco   2014jbuchanan   2014rowensby  
SGA President
Jerry Perdue

SGA Advisor
Luuciano Picanco

  SGA Advisor
Joan Buchanan
  SGA Advisor
Roger Owensby

Student Government Association
(Revised July 11, 2013)
Jerry Perdue President
Dakota Dotson Vice President/Board of Governors
Laura Stevens Secretary of Records
Candace Flanagan Secretary of Social Activities
Fejijimi Adegbohun Secretary of Multicultural Affairs
Julie Lasicki Secretary of Advertisement
Rachel Justus State Advisory Council of Students
Ayla Mathias Senator
Jessica Rogers Senator
Shatika Cockrell Senator
Lacey Andrews Senator
Sarah Lowe Senator
Michael Perkins Senator
Justin Joseph Senator
Famara Jallow Senator
Joan Buchanan  
Luciano Picanco  
Roger Owensby