myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Saturday, December 10, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

April 15, 2010

Categories 2010

Board of Governors
April 15, 2010

Members Present: Ms. Gloria Stephens, Mr. Larry Morhous, Mr. Roger Topping, Ms. Anne Taylor, Mr. James Palmer, III, Mr. Richard Bezjak, Ms. Lisa Neel, Mr. Craig Cardwell, Ms. Angie Lambert, Mr. Larry Ratliff, Mr. Robert Perkinson
Members Absent: Mr. Sylvester Myers
Guests/Staff: Dr. Albert Walker, Mr. John Cardwell, Mr. Jim Nelson, Dr. Tom Blevins, Dr. Don Smith, Ms. Shelia Johnson, Dr. Tracey Anderson, Ms. Christina Brogdon, Ms. Anita Barilla, Mr. Butch Worley, Ms. Deirdre Guyton, Dr. Voelker and students from the American Government class, Mr. Dick Houtchins and Mr. David Blevins of Thompson and Litton

Call to Order – Chairman James Palmer, III
Chairman James Palmer called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the MountainView Student Residence and Conference Center.
Consent Agenda
A motion was made (LMorhous/RTopping) to approve the Consent Agenda. Motion carried.
Ms. Brogdon explained to the group that Policy #50 and #53 were combined and ready for the Board’s approval as Policy #50, Drug Free Workplace. A motion was made (ATaylor/RBezjak) to approve Policy #50. Motion carried. 
Ms. Brogdon explained that Policy #53, Policies and Procedures for Submission of Grant and/or Contract Applications, had some comments during the 30 day period and asked that approval be deferred until further discussion takes place. A motion was made (RPerkinson/CCardwell) to defer approval of Policy #53. Motion carried.
Discussion Agenda
Finance Committee Report  - Mr. Larry Ratliff, Mr. Larry Morhous, and Ms. Anne Taylor
Mr. Larry Morhous expressed concern for the investment return for the institution. The committee has asked Ms. Johnson to look into the policies of HEPC and what can be done to make higher yielding investments.
MOU Between Southern WV Community and Technical College and Bluefield State College
Dr. Don Smith reported on the agreement with Southern WV Community and Technical College to develop opportunities for their students to earn bachelor degrees in Criminal Justice after they complete associate degrees at Southern. Courses may be offered at the Saulsville campus in person, by interactive video, or online. This partnership will begin by offering courses from the Criminal Justice program with the hope that other programs may be developed at a later date.
Brown Gilbert Basic Science Building HVAC System Loan Request – Ms. Shelia Johnson
Ms. Johnson introduced Mr. Dick Houtchins, Project Manager, and Mr. David Blevins of Thompson and Litton. She informed the group that this is the same firm who has been contracted to do the energy assessment for the campus. Due to authorization of $850, 000 from federal stimulus money for the replacement of the Basic Science HVAC system, this project has been moved to a priority position in the energy concept. However, the college is still short $750,000 for acquiring a state of the art system. Mr. Blevins reviewed the choices in the HVAC systems for the Basic Science building and the efficiency and savings of each. A motion was made (LMorhous/ATaylor) to approve the solicitation of the two loans for a total of $750,000 for the more efficient system. Motion carried.
Update on Legislative Audit – Ms. Shelia Johnson
Ms. Johnson reported that the Legislative Audit was completed in July 2009. The team returned on March 1, 2010 for a progress report on issues corrected so far. Ms. Johnson will share the final report with the Board when it is received.
West Virginia Access Center for Higher Education (WVACHE) Resolution
Dr. Walker informed the group that in order to compete for funding through available stimulus money, a resolution must be approved by the Board. He reviewed the work of WVACHE and services provided to students. A motion was made (ATaylor/RBejzak) to approve the resolution for competition for stimulus funds.  Motion carried. Chairman Palmer signed the resolution.
Status of Coaching Positions - Ms. Christina Brogdon
Ms. Brogdon discussed the vacant non-classified head basketball coaching positions and called the group’s attention to the 2004 BOG minutes specifying that the two positions revert back to classified positions in the event they became vacant. Ms. Brogdon recommended that the positions remain non-classified positions for the good of the institution. Ms. Neel stated that because of the loss of the two classified positions when these positions were changed to non-classified, the Classified Staff Council has asked that in the event that Athletics is eliminated, two classified positions will be reinstated. Discussion followed.  A motion was made (LMorhous/ATaylor) to change the status of the two coaching positions to non-classified. Motion carried. A motion was made (LRatliff/ALambert) to honor the request of the Classified Staff Council that the two positions would revert back to classified positions in the event Athletics is eliminated. Six in favor with four opposed. Motion carried. Board members requested advance notification of important changes concerning the institution before information is made public.
Tuition and Fees for 2010-20111 – Ms. Shelia Johnson
Ms. Johnson reviewed the information in the Board’s packet and recommended the approval of the resolution which states that no tuition increase is requested for in-state tuition; an increase in out-of-state of $144, or 3.2%, from $4,500 to $4,644; an increase in metro fees of $108, or 3.3% from $3,306 to $3,414; no changes in special fees and charges; and no increases in room and board charges. She also asked that the President be given the authority to make adjustments based upon political and economic factors occurring in the coming weeks. A motion was made (LMorhous/LRatliff) to accept the recommendation for tuition and fees increases for 2010-2011 as presented.  Motion carried.
Formal HEPC Policy Change Related to President’s Evaluation – Ms. Christina Brogdon
Ms. Brogdon called the group’s attention to Policy 24 and the changes of HEPC for the evaluation of the president from every four years to every three years. Motion was made (LMorhous/ATaylor) to adopt Policy 24 as presented. Motion carried.

Executive Session
A motion was made (RTopping/RPerkinson) to go into executive session at 8:29 p.m. Motion carried.
A motion was made (RTopping/LMorhous) to return to regular session at 9:01 p.m. Motion carried.
Next Meeting Date – June 17, 2010
With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 9:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Anita Barilla