myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Sunday, December 21, 2014
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma Inducts Six Students in its Class of 1997

Six students have been inducted as the 1997 class of the Bluefield State College chapter of the national honor society for freshmen, Phi Eta Sigma. The students have met Phi Eta Sigma's stringent academic qualifications of achieving a 3.5 grade point average, or better, on a 4.0 system.

Phi Eta Sigma is the oldest and largest honor society in the United States. Since its establishment in 1923, Phi Eta Sigma has established more than 300 college chapters, with over 400,000 members. The Bluefield State College chapter installed the 1997 class on May 1.

The 1997 inductees include David W. Christian (Lewisburg), Sara Hall (Paynesville), Amy Sue Hill (Oakvale), J. Rodney Ralosky (Princeton), Anne Marie Tomblin (Bluewell), and Adam Douglas Watts (Princeton). The induction ceremony was conducted by chapter president Paul Gravely and chapter vice president, Stephanie Allen. They were assisted by chapter advisors John Cardwell and Ralph Patsel.

Three Bluefield State College staff/faculty were selected for honorary Phi Eta Sigma membership: Donald G. Bury, Professor of Architectural Engineering Technology; Melissa Oxley Haye, Program Director and Instructor of Radiologic Technology; and John C. Cardwell, Director of Admissions and Enrollment Management.