myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Saturday, December 10, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC National “B” Club Inducts Hall of Fame “Class of 2014”

  • Created
    Thursday, July 31 2014
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

The Bluefield State College National "B" Club Hall of Fame inductees, Class of 2014 included posthumous honorees: James Carter, William J. Gilbert, and McDaniel Marsh, and living honorees (front row, left-to-right) Pam Lucado, Deidre Hill, (back row l-to-r) as well as living honorees Anthony Harris, Kenny Mandeville, Tom Jessee, Tony Colobro, Tommy Pritchett, and Joseph Lewis.
(Bluefield)—Eleven outstanding former coaches and athletes joined the membership of the Bluefield State College National "B" Club Hall of Fame during the organization's 2014 Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon, July 25. The fifth annual Hall of Fame ceremony was a featured event in the Bluefield State College Alumni Association's Centennial Reunion.

Orlando Henderson, National "B" Club President, and Deirdre Guyton, BSC Alumni Director, coordinated the induction ceremony. The Class of 2014 included posthumous honorees: James Carter, William J. Gilbert, and McDaniel Marsh, as well as living honorees Tony Colobro, Anthony Harris, Deidre Hill, Tom Jessee, Joseph Lewis, Pam Lucado, Kenny Mandeville, and Tommy Pritchett.

"It has been a pleasure to watch the National "B" Club Hall of Fame gain momentum since its establishment," Henderson said. "We had a capacity audience of more than 150 who came together to recognize the outstanding achievements of these former BSC athletes and coaches." Each honoree received a plaque and "B" Club blue blazer in recognition of their accomplishments and service.

Biographies of the "B" Club Class of 2014:

Posthumous honorees:

William Elry (Billy) Gilbert—After three years of military service, Billy Gilbert enrolled at Bluefield State College, earning a bachelor's degree in Physical Education. He was a member of the Big Blues' varsity football and baseball teams. He later worked for 34 years in the New York City public school system and later retired from the New York State Department of Mental Hygiene.

McDaniel Marsh, Jr.—He received a bachelor's degree from Bluefield State College, also attending The Ohio State University and Ohio Dominican University. He served with distinction as a school principal in the Columbus (OH) public school system.

Living Honorees:

Tony Colobro—A Welch High School and Concord College football player, he coached at Iaeger and Welch High Schools, then enjoyed an outstanding collegiate coaching career at Bluefield State and Concord. He served for ten years as head coach, assistant coach, and athletic director at BSC. At Concord, his teams won WVIAC titles five times during a six year period (1976-81). He's also a member of the McDowell County, Concord University, and NAIA Halls of Fame.

Anthony Harris—"String" was a standout on the Northfork High School basketball championship teams in 1974 and '75, earning West Virginia All-State honors for three years. At BSC, he was a member of the WVIAC All-Conference teams in 1976, '77, and '79 (missing much of the 1978 season because of injury). He taught in the McDowell County school system for 32 years.

Tommy Pritchett—Tommy was a three year letterman at Bluefield High School, leading all high school basketball players in scoring with a 31.8 points per game average as a senior. He set a BHS record, scoring 58 points in a single game. During his freshman year at BSC, Tommy led the WVIAC in scoring (24.5 ppg average). He paced the Big Blues in scoring as a sophomore (18.7 ppg), and after missing much of his junior year because of injury, he led the Big Blues to a school record 31 victories during his senior season, averaging 22.9 points per outing. He scored a WVIAC record 52 points in a conference tournament game as a senior.

Deidre (Butler) Hill—After an outstanding high school basketball career at Princeton, Dee Dee was a star basketball player at Concord College and at Bluefield State, graduating from BSC in 1987. As a coach, she was a three-time Southwest District Softball "Coach of the Year," also winning SWD honors as the District's volleyball and track "Coach of the Year." She is a member of the Lady Blues' WVIAC championship teams in 1985 and '87, and is also a member of the Princeton Senior High Athletic Hall of Fame.

Thomas Jessee—Tom recently recorded his 400th career victory as a college basketball coach. After graduating from BSC in 1988, Tom served as an assistant women's basketball coach for Kenny Mandeville's Lady Blues, then moving into the head coaching position, where his BSC team compiled a 170-89 mark in nine seasons. At the University of Tampa, he led the Spartans to the NCAA tournament in eight of his first ten seasons as head coach, and his 249 wins at UT establish him as the program's all-time winningest coach.

Joseph Lewis—An outstanding player and coach, Joe Lewis graduated from BSC in 1956. At Bluefield State, he was a standout lineman on the Big Blues football teams, and he holds the CIAA record for the longest interception return by a lineman in conference history. In 2010, he was inducted into the Appomattox County (VA) Sports Hall of Fame. He enjoyed a very successful career as an administrator in the Virginia Correctional System, and he served as a teacher, coach, and athletic director at the high school and junior college level. He is also a former president of the BSC Alumni Association.

Pam Lucado—Pam was a very good scholastic athlete, starring for the Montcalm Lady Generals' basketball, softball, and volleyball teams. She was a West Virginia All-State first team selection as a basketball player and was selected to play in the first annual North-South All-Star game. She received all-WVIAC honors as a member of the BSC Lady Blues' basketball teams and was named Most Valuable Player in the conference tournament in 1985, helping the team to earn a position in the NAIA National Basketball Tournament that season.

Kenny Mandeville—Kenny earned a baccalaureate degree from BSC in 1977, accepting the head coaching position of the Lady Blues' basketball team in 1979. Under his direction, he coached BSC's first female All-American, Lynne Kelly, and he also coached 2014 "B" Club inductees Dee Dee Butler and Pam Lucado. He has served BSC for 35 years and is currently the College's Director of Admissions.