myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Sunday, December 11, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

National Gamma Beta Phi Society Executive Director Delivers Featured Address at BSC Gamma Chapter Fall Induction Ceremony

  • Created
    Tuesday, December 03 2013
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

natl gamma beta phi
Gamma Beta Phi National Executive Director Jimmy McNutt was the featured speaker during the Bluefield State College Gamma chapter new member induction ceremony. Pictured (left-to-right) during the induction program are Dr. Marsha Krotseng (BSC President), Mr. McNutt, Noah Mitchell (2013-14 BSC Gamma chapter president), Angela Roberson (2013-14 chapter vice president), Dr. Sean Connolly (chapter co-advisor), Stephen Bowers (2012-13 chapter president), and Michele Noe (chapter co-advisor).

(Bluefield)—The Bluefield State College chapter of Gamma Beta Phi, a national coeducational honor and service society, held its Fall 2013 new member induction ceremony recently at the College. Jimmy McNutt, Gamma's National Executive Director, was the keynote speaker, addressing attendees that included 12 new BSC chapter inductees. This year's ceremony focused upon the importance of community service, with an emphasis on the core beliefs of the Society—Scholarship, Character, and Service.

The BSC scholars inducted into the 2013 class of Gamma Beta Phi included: Morgan Farley, Charles Gibson, Makenzie Long, Courtney Marcus, Maggie Miller, Vicki Starling, Kayla York, James Kyle Bowling, William E. Gearhart, Jr., Maryann Alice Jordan, Jerry Perdue, and Felicia Dawn Redden.

To be selected for membership into Gamma Beta Phi, a student must be in the top 20 percent of his or her class and be committed to excellence in education, to good character, and to service.