myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Friday, December 09, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC Faculty Member Roger Owensby To Be Recognized as “Educator of the Year” During “Miners’ Celebration,” Oct. 3 at Tamarack

  • Created
    Monday, September 30 2013
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

roger owensby(Bluefield)—Roger Owensby, Director of the Mining Engineering Technology Program at Bluefield State College, has been named "Educator of the Year" and will be recognized at the annual "Miners' Celebration," October 3 at Tamarack.

Owensby, a certified mine foreman-fireboss, will be honored along with five others, all of whom have made significant contributions to West Virginia's coal mining industry. "The West Virginia mining industry is very important to us," noted Dr. Tony Swilski, chairman of the Miners Celebration event planning committee and director of Marshall University's Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences."

"The industry depends on thousands of individuals in a number of different roles and every person—whether they work as a safety engineer, miner, environmental professional or equipment supplier—contributes to each ton of coal produced, as do countless community leaders, educators and mining families. This event is intended to honor and recognize the contributions of everyone involved."

Other honorees include James H. Buck Harless of Gilbert (Community Investment Award), Geneva Steele of Paynesville (Community Involvement Award), Jim Dean of Morgantown (Safety Professional Award), Jennie Henthorn of St. Albans (Environmental Professional Award), and Katharine Fredriksen of Pittsburgh (Women in Mining Award).

The Miners' Celebration begins with a free reception, beginning at 5 p.m., October 3 in the Tamarack atrium. Tickets ($50 per person) to the dinner and awards ceremony, which begins at 6 p.m. in the Tamarack ballroom, can be purchased by calling 304-696.4029.

The Miners' Celebration is a cooperative project of the Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences at Marshall University, the National Coal Heritage Area, the United Mine Workers of America, the West Virginia Coal Association, Strategic Solutions LLC, and the West Virginia Division of Energy/Office of Coalfield Community Development.