myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Saturday, December 10, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC’s Charlene Diggs Nominated for 2013 NCAA “Woman of the Year” Award

  • Created
    Friday, August 02 2013
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

diggs charlene

(Bluefield)—Bluefield State College basketball standout Charlene Diggs has been selected as one of the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s two nominees for the 2013 NCAA Woman of the Year award.  The Beckley, WV resident was named BSC’s WVIAC Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year for 2013 and earned the team’s Academic Award.

She has also been very active in community initiatives, serving as a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity and the Mercer County Schools’ Reading Bee, and she was an active member of BSC’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.  Additionally, she completed her collegiate career this spring, ranking among BSC’s top ten in career scoring, steals, and assists.  As captain of the Lady Blues, she helped the team achieve its best season (13-13) in 16 years.

“This nomination for Charlene is an amazing honor for her and for our women’s basketball program,” observed J.J. Oliver, Lady Blues head basketball coach.  “In the years that she has been a part of my program, I have watched her truly mature into a young woman who is a leader and trailblazer among her peers.”

“My experience as a student-athlete at BSC taught me a lot,” Diggs recalled.  “It taught me to stay committed to the basketball program and to the college, and to strive to be the first member of my family to graduate from a four-year college.  It helped me mature as a person.  Coach Oliver instilled in us that being a student and helping others comes first.  I am honored to be nominated for this award.”

The NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee will select the top ten honorees in each division, and three nominees will later be selected to be among the nine finalists for this year’s award.  On October 20, the NCAA will announce the 2013 Woman of the Year and will honor the top 30 nominees.