myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Saturday, December 10, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

Bluefield State College Alumni Association Awards $25K in Scholarships to BSC Students for 2013-14 Academic Year

  • Created
    Thursday, June 06 2013
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

bsc alumni assoc awards

The Bluefield State College Alumni Association, Inc. has awarded scholarships to 17 current Bluefield State College students and three incoming BSC students for the 2013-14 academic year.  The total value of all BSCAA scholarships awarded for 2013-14 totaled $25,000.  The scholarship recipients were announced during a brief ceremony at the College on May 17.  Pictured (left-to-right/front row) are Dr. Marsha Krotseng (BSC President), Mrs. Mildred Washington (BSCAA President), scholarship recipients Sasha Richmond, Shay Gravely, Andrea Hauser, Ashley Reid, Angguna Rowe, Shannon Oliver, Isabella Cubillos, BSC Alumni Affairs Director Deirdre Guyton, and BSCAA scholarship committee member Susie Green, (back row/left-to-right) scholarship recipients Christian Jugah, Christopher Saunders, Tasia Nolan, Avery Holliday, Gautam Sreeram, Piotr Kruk, Jacob Carey, Niklas Sparr, Samuel Ouedrago, and BSCAA scholarship committee chair Ergie Smith.  Not pictured are scholarship recipients Jenaya Abernathy (BSC student), incoming BSC freshmen Holly Blankenship (Liberty/Raleigh County High School), Joshua Nowlin (Princeton Sr. High School) and Nicholas Nowlin (Princeton Sr. High School), as well as scholarship committee members Virginia Hebert and Russell Manns.  Chairman Ergie Smith expressed special appreciation to all scholarship committee members, including the late Velma Bradshaw, who passed away recently, but was an active member of the committee during the scholarship selection process earlier this year.