myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Sunday, December 04, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC 2013 Commencement Honors the College’s Heritage, Celebrates its Present, and Looks Forward to its Future

  • Created
    Thursday, May 23 2013
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

(Bluefield)—In a celebration of Bluefield State College's past, present, and future, 377 BSC students graduated, three esteemed alumni were awarded honorary doctorates, and an audience of more than 4000 packed the Brushfork Armory for the College's 112th commencement exercises.

Dr. Paul Hill, Chancellor/West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, delivered the commencement address. He told graduates their academic degrees will open doors for them. "Graduates, you now have the potential to go forward," he said. "Success requires hard work and perseverance. When you began your college career, you made the decision to turn challenge into a way to grow. The education you have received at Bluefield State College has prepared you for today's work force."

Dr. Marsha Krotseng, who became BSC's 13th president at the start of the 2012-13 academic year, noted, "We who are assembled here today do so as an expression of our pride in you—the graduates of 2013. We are confident that you will go forth from here well prepared to make meaningful and substantial contributions to the community, region, society, and your profession."


Four Bluefield State College students, each of whom maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average, were recognized as co-valedictorians of the BSC Class of 2013. They were Angela Akers, Scott Harris, Sheila Hughes, and Alex Ledgerwood.

Honorary Doctorates

Three honorary "Doctor of Humanites" degrees were awarded to individuals who haverepresented their alma mater with distinction. This year's honorees included Carl P. Boyd, Ergie R. Smith, Jr., and, posthumously, Lt. Col. Thomas H. Mayfield.

Mr. Boyd, a 1957 BSC alumnus, has been a most active supporter of the College, establishing with his wife, Selba Meadows Boyd," an endowed scholarship that has benefited numerous students over the past seven years. In 2012, the Conley Hall Conference Room was named in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Boyd for their guidance, insight, and support to the College.

Lt. Col. Mayfield, a 1947 BSC alumnus, was a member of the famed Tuskegee Airmen. He received the Congressional Gold Medal from Former U.S. President George W. Bush in 2007. His son, Thomas A. Mayfield, represented Lt. Col. Mayfield in receiving the honorary doctorate.

Mr. Smith, a 1952 BSC alumnus, was an outstanding student-athlete, teacher, and coach, and he was selected in 2012 to receive the "Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission's "West Virginia 'Living the Dream' Award."

BSC Foundation Outstanding Faculty Award

Roy Pruett, Electrical Engineering Technology Professor, received the BSC Foundation's "Outstanding Faculty Award." Professor Pruett joined the faculty in the 1980s, encouraging students in numerous academic competitions and traveling with them to regional conferences. For many years, he has coordinated the regional Math Counts competition, and he has served as a volunteer for the Bluefield Holiday Lights.

Brian Delp Service Leadership Award

This year's recipient of the Brian Delp Service Leadership Award was Shikar Kapur, an outstanding scholar-athlete. Active in a variety of student academic and volunteer initiatives, he is an NCAA Academic All-American and a four year standout on the BSC tennis team.

BSC Class of 1963

Three members of the BSC Class of 1963, Ms. Brenda Miller Eaves, Mr. Frank McKenley Lee, and Ms. Joan Owens Lewis, returned to their alma mater to participate in the commencement program on the golden anniversary of their graduation. BSC Alumni Association President Mildred Washington administered the alumni oath to all members of the graduating class of 2013.