myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Sunday, December 04, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC National “B” Club Announces Class of 2012 Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Created
    Wednesday, April 04 2012
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

(Bluefield)— The Bluefield State College National "B" Club will induct 12 new members during a special ceremony and luncheon on July 27 in Bluefield. This year's inductees include four members who will be inducted posthumously. Many of the honorees were All-Americans, All-CIAA, and All-West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference selections as student-athletes.

This year's honorees included posthumous inductees Alto Lark (1962), Claude Watts (1962), John L. Washington (1947) and Henry Winkfield (1942), as well as living honorees James Childress (1971), C.Douglas Cobb, J.D. (1968), Joseph R. Fourqurean (1972), Lynne Kelly (1986), Frank Lee (1963), Raymond Reed (1955), Lacy L. Smith (1943), and Preston Watkins (1971).

Orlando Henderson, chairman of the Hall of Fame committee and President/Bluefield State College Alumni Association, observed that this year's honorees are "individuals of distinction on the athletic field, in the classroom, and in the community."

Deirdre Guyton, Bluefield State College's Director of Alumni Affairs, will narrate a "Spotlight Parade of Hall of Fame Inductees," during which each new Hall of Fame member will be recognized for his/her achievements.

The BSC National "B" Club Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon will be held on Friday, July 27, 2012 (during the BSC Alumni Association, Inc. National Reunion), beginning at noon at the Quality Inn Hotel & Conference Center in Bluefield. Luncheon cost is $25/person. Additional information can be obtained by contacting the Office of Alumni Affairs at 304-327-4289 or 304-327-4569.