myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Tuesday, December 06, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

West Virginia All Black Schools Sports & Academic Hall of Fame Announces 2010 Honorees

  • Created
    Thursday, October 21 2010
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

(Bluefield)—More than 30 individuals and teams connected to, or affiliated with Bluefield State College were honored during the fourth West Virginia All Black Schools Sports and Academic Hall of Fame program which was celebrated recently in Charleston, WV.

The Hall of Fame/Museum project has been compiling and preserving the history of 38 former all-Black schools and three former all black colleges in the Mountain State for the last four years and booklets will be distributed in current state schools for use during the annual Black History Month, February, 2011.

“West Virginia is at the forefront of this historical movement--the movement for the preservation of a history of the all black schools,” noted Weirton attorney Helen Jackson-Gillison, President and CEO of the Hall of Fame.  “West Virginia is closing the gap in history that exists from the pre-Brown vs. Board of Education period.”

Jackson-Gillison said one of the major developments to evolve from the process is that the state Hall of Fame has worked to begin formation of the National All Black Schools Sports and Academic Hall of Fame, which can bring aboard the other 20 states that had segregated schools.

Sports presentations at the 2011 West Virginia celebration featured a speech by Earl Lloyd, the first African-American to play in the NBA; recognition of Bluefield State College’s two-time national Black collegiate football national champions (1927-28) coached by Harry “Big Jeff” Jefferson, and a commemorative program featuring the history of West Virginia’s black basketball tournaments from 1925-1957.

They include former Gary District, Gary High and Mount View High School coach and well-known sports official Ergie R. Smith Jr., and former Elkhorn coach and Northfork High School coach, the late Henry L. Winkfield.

The W.Va. ABSSA also inducted over 30 academics, including 10 Ph.D.’s, two M.D.’s and four Doctors of Divinity.

The Hall of Fame induction categories included: The Greatest of the Great, which is the highest honor a member can receive from his or her school; The Lifetime Achievement Award, based on outstanding works over a lifetime, and the highest honor a member can receive from the Hall of Fame board; the Icon Award, presented to living faculty, staff and school personnel; the Legend Award, given to academic and athletic pioneers, and the Vanguard Legacy Honors Award, given to the heirs of a member who was a leader in the development of his or her field.

Honorees with a connection to Bluefield State Colleges, according to the Hall of Fame, included:


Ergie R. Smith
Ted Gallion (posthumous)
1927-28 BSC football national champions

Lifetime achievement

Richard N. Henry
Russell Keith
Dr. John Vernon, Jr.
George W. Froe, III (posthumous)
Harold Carlie Adderton, Jr.
Weldon “Dennis” Robinson
Carol Jean Pennington-Show

Attorneys & Judges

Bishop Donald L. Pitts (posthumous)

Academic Hall of Fame Doctorate holding academicians

Dr. Louis Aikens
Dr. Carolyn Bailey Lewis
Dr. Creasie Finney Hairston
Dr. Michael Gallion, nephew of former BSC football All-American Ted Gallion, a star on the 1927-28 national championship teams


Dr. Maposure Miller is a BSC grad

Lifetime Achievement

James Clyde Baylor
James Macarthur Morris
William Henry Murphy
Dr. Raleigh Daniel Hairston
Brown H. Payne (posthumous)

Lifetime Achievement—Icon Teacher

Phyllis T. Brown
Sheliah Elizabeth Higginbotham Brown
Edward Roscoe Coleman, Sr.
Ellis Ray Williams, Sr.

Sports & Academic Lifetime Achievement Award

Linda Pettigrew Trigg

Greatest of the Greats Sports & Academic Honorees

John A. Boles, Jr.
Coach John Henry Mackey (posthumous)
Coach Malvin C. Ross

Vangard Legacy Honors

John Edward “Moose” Monroe
Marsha D. Lawson
Wilbert A. Payne, Esq.