myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Saturday, December 20, 2014
Text Size

Recommend Print

BSC Observes Second Annual "Employeee Recognition Day"

Bluefield State College extended appreciation to the institution's faculty, classified staff, and administration during its second annual "Employee Recognition Day," May 7. Among the many highlights of the luncheon program--the presentation of the "Bluefield State College Foundation Outstanding Classified Staff" awards, and the announcement of the College's first "Classified Emeritus" and "Administrator Emeritus" awards.

BSC President Dr. Robert Moore presented the College Foundation's "Outstanding Classified Staff" awards to Hilda Cochran, microcomputer specialist, and Remona Finney, records officer/Registrar's Office. Both recipients received a $500 gift from the BSC Foundation in recognition of their selection for the awards.

The first "Classified Staff Emeritus" designations ever bestowed by Bluefield State College were granted to William L. Jackson and, posthumously, Hobart Patterson. Mr. Jackson served the college for 35 years, and Mr. Patterson served the institution for 23 years. Plaques were presented to Mr. Jackson, and to Mrs. Katherine Patterson, who accepted the award in behalf of her late husband.

Recently-retired BSC Director of Financial and Administrative Services S. Randolph Grim granted "Administrator Emeritus" status to recognize his 22 years' service to BSC.

The College also presented special "Certificates of Recognition" to the following employees: William Aldridge, Dr. Thomas Blevins, William Bradberry, John Cardwell, Kathy Epperly, William Goodman, Deirdre Guyton, Dr. Sudhakar Jamkhandi, Cravor Jones, Leila Kennedy, Annette Osborne, Ralph Patsel, Deborrah Pittman, and Greg Shrewsberry.

Thirty-year certificates of appreciation were given to Frank Hart, Rita Hill, and Tom Lafone.

Twenty-five year certificates were awarded to Berreda Ratliff and Issac Strain. Those receiving 20 year certificates' Fred Bandy (state recognition), Thomas Blevins, Terry Brown, Aleta Crockett, Patricia Gilley, Edison Neal, and Roger Owensby.

Fifteen-year recipients included: Don Bury, Carol Cofer, Jerry Conner, Aleta Crockett, Dr. Harriet Duncan, Kathy Hill, Geoff Hunter, Mitzi Litton, Rebecca Martin, Annette Osborne, Joanna Thompson, Sandra Thompson, and Dean Watkins.

Individuals receiving ten year certificates were: Fred Bandy (BSC award), Brenda Bass, Joyce Brown, Lois Brown, Linda Dalton, William Goodman, Sudhakar Jamkhandi, Linda Neal, Dr. Helmut Nienstadt, Julia Pauley, Beth Pritchett, John Sage, Patricia Sluss, Bruce Sneidman, and Allonia Thompson.

Five-year certificate recipients included: N. Lynn Adams, Rick Akers, Regina Arnold, Carol Baldwin, Darlene Buchanan, Kimberly Daniels, Virgil Harden, Tom Harrison, Nora Hensley, Melody Howell, Kenneth Kellum, Leila Kennedy, Angela Lambert, James McGehee, Heather McGonagle, Jim Nelson, Dr. David Perkins, Deborah Reagan, Dorothy Sprain, and Terry Wells.