myBSC | Banner | Beckley | Helpdesk
Thursday, December 08, 2016
Text Size

Recommend Print

Five Bluefield State College Students Receive Scholarship Awards from the Joseph L. Palmer Scholarship Program

  • Created
    Thursday, June 09 2011
  • Created by
    Jim Nelson/Media Relations - (304) 327-4103

Five Bluefield State College students recently received $1500 scholarship awards from the Joseph L. Palmer Scholarship program.  Pictured (left-to-right) are Dr. Sarita Rhonemus (BSC Director of Outreach Programs), scholarship recipients Paquita Martin, Shawnta Ware, and Stacy Dudley, and Dr. Albert Walker (BSC President).  Scholarship recipients Hubert Mullins and Jessica McGuire were unable to attend the award ceremony and are not pictured.

(Bluefield)—Bluefield State College has awarded $1500 scholarships to five students through the Joseph L. Palmer Scholarship program.  BSC student recipients include Paquita Martin, Shawnta Ware, Stacy Dudley, Hubert Mullins, and Jessica McGuire.

The Joseph L. Palmer Scholarship program is funded by the Black History Committee of the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC), which provides a grant to a different Historically Black College or University (HBCU) each year.  Bluefield State College was selected for the grant for the 2010-11 academic year.

The scholarship award was named in memory of the late Joseph L. Palmer, a former ARC official with a vision for helping less privileged students.  It is intended to supplement funding shortfalls experienced by the students receiving the award and must be used within one academic year, including summer, to cover academic expenses.

All students regardless of race, religion, or gender are eligible to apply, but to receive an award, the student must be enrolled fulltime at the recipient HBCU.  Winning students are selected on the basis of their academic progress, as well as their financial need.  Only students who either graduated from a high school or received a GED in counties deemed “distressed,” “at-risk,” or “transitional” by ARC are eligible to receive the scholarship award.